Prince of Peace Catholic Parish - Great Bend, KS




Baptism is the 1st Sacrament of Initiation. The Catholic Church baptizes children, adolescents, and adults. Children of catechetical age(7 years old), adolescents, and adults are prepared for Baptism through the ritual, experiential, and catechetical process called the RCIA(Rite of Christian Initiation).


Confirmation is the 2nd Sacrament of Initiation. The age for celebrating Confirmation in our parish is the 9th grade. The bishop normally confirms these young people in a special ceremony. Children who are not baptized and of catechetical age and adults are confirmed at the Easter Vigil.

First Communion


Eucharist is the 3rd and final Sacrament of Initiation. Normally 1st Eucharist is celebrated in the 2nd grade. Adults who celebrate the sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation at the Easter Vigil celebrate 1st Eucharist at the same time.

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is a "vocational" sacrament by which a man is ordained a deacon, priest, or bishop. Some men choose to remain a "permanent" deacon. If this is the case, they are able to be married. Priests and bishops are not married, although there are some priests who are ministers from another faith tradition(e.g., Anglican) who join the Catholic Church and want to serve as a priest. If they are married, they are allowed to remain married. Consequently, the Catholic Church does have a "married priesthood".


Marriage is a "vocational" sacrament by which a man and a woman vow unity and indissolubility (a permanent bond). Any Catholic young adult(18 years and older) is able to get married in the Catholic Church. If a person is divorced and wants to marry or remarry in the Catholic Church, they can "petition" to be free to marry.


Reconciliation(sometimes called "Confession") is one of the two sacraments of healing. The Catholic Church has 3 rites/ways to celebrate reconciliation formally: the Rite of Individual Reconciliation with Individual Absolution; the Rite of Communal Reconciliation with Individual Absolution; and the Rite of General Reconciliation & Absolution, which is reserved for war-time situations or when the number of penitents is large and the number of priests planned to be available for the sacrament is small. Like many parishes Prince of Peace celebrates the Rite of Individual Reconciliation every weekend(see the Worship Schedule). We also celebrate the Rite of Communal Reconciliation during Advent and Lent. The Rite of General Absolution is not celebrated since that rite is reserved for special circumstances.

Anointing of the Sick & Dying

Anointing of the Sick and Dying is the second sacrament of healing in the Catholic Church. No longer reserved for "extreme" illness, this sacrament can be celebrated before surgery or when a person is feeling sick mentally, spiritually, emotionally, or physically. Like many parishes, Prince of Peace celebrates a communal Anointing once a year in the Fall.

Funeral Infomation

Every Catholic has a right to be buried with the funeral rites of the Catholic Church. The funeral rites include a Vigil the evening before the actual funeral and the Funeral itself, along with burial. Catholics are allowed to be cremated but cremation is not encouraged due to our age-old respect for the human body.